Tetris-like Platformer Loot River is Out on PC & Xbox

'Souls meets Tetris' in Loot River, an action roguelike by straka.studio, is currently available on Xbox Game Pass.

By Rayan, Posted 03 May 2022

Loot River, a 'Dark Souls meets Tetris' action roguelike, has been released today by straka.studio and SUPERHOT PRESENTS for PC and Xbox One and Xbox Series X|S. 

Loot River's complex, randomly generated rivers provide a dynamic combat system, a broad bestiary of cursed opponents, and a treasure of build-changing weapons, spells, and other loot. A wealthy universe of traveling nomads, lured to an evil relic, has been trapped in an endless cycle of life and death as they trek through countless parallel worlds, eating each other to absorb the wisdom of their fellow travelers. As many lost souls drift down the Loot River, no two trips are ever the same.


Loot River, Souls Meets Tetris, Roguelike, PC, Xbox One, Xbox Series X, Xbox Series S, straka.studio, NoobFeed
 

Players in Loot River can use the Relic's power to alter the earth under them, allowing them to float about on shattered bits of abandoned landscapes. In combat, players will use these Tetris-like blocks to influence their enemies and control the environment in which their skirmishes take place by slotting them together. Players will encounter terrifying monsters, stranded passengers, and titanic bosses as they explore these infinite caverns.

Those brave enough to brave the ruins of Loot River will find an abundance of new weaponry and enchanted items, spells, armor, and charms that can be used to enhance one's own powers. Creating a solid and unexpected strategy is essential in helping players achieve further with each run. Players will get a taste of what straka.studio's latest developer walkthrough has to offer by checking out this video.

Miro Straka, the game's creative director, said he was "thrilled" that Loot River was finally available on Xbox and PC today. There are many surprises in the game, and I'm eager to see what type of inventive builds people come up with to take on the difficult procedurally-generated dungeons and strong enemies we've developed to test their abilities.

Loot River is currently available for Xbox One and Xbox Series X|S; the game is a free download for Xbox Game Pass members and will be released on Steam at 9 am PDT, 12 pm EDT, 5 pm BST, and 6 pm CET as soon as it is officially validated by Steam Deck. At launch, Loot River costs $24.99 / €24.99 / £19.99 / $24.99 / €24.99.
 

Azfar Rayan (@AzfarRayan)
Editor, NoobFeed

comments powered by Disqus

Related News

NoobFeed

View All

Popular Articles